Difference between revisions of "Convert a Client to StandAlone"

From SIMboxWiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
Line 1: Line 1:
You can convert a Client machine to a Standalone machine without loggin into the Client. This is useful if your Client is pointed to a server that is no longer available, and you cannot log in to your Client to change it to Standalone or to point to a different server.
+
You can use the KnowBookSettings Properties to convert a Client machine to a Standalone machine ''without loggin into the Client''. This is useful if your Client is pointed to a server that is no longer available, and you cannot log in to your Client to change it to Standalone or to point to a different server.  
  
Note:  
+
'''Note''': If you can log into the Client, the preferred method for converting a Client machine to a Standalone machine (and vice versa) is to select '''Tools'''\'''Options'''\'''General''' '''from the KnowBook main menu.
  
 +
<br>
  
 +
To convert a client to StandAlone without logging into the Client:
  
To convert a client to StandAlone, first open KnowBook Settings:<br>  
+
#Open the KnowBook Settings from the '''Start'''\'''Program Files'''\'''KnowBook'''\'''KnowBook Settings''' menu.&nbsp;<br>[[Image:KnowbookSettings.png]]<br>  
 
+
#Check the '''StandAlone '''checkbox.<br>[[Image:StandAlone.png]]
[[Image:KnowbookSettings.png]]<br>  
+
#''<span style="line-height: 1.5em;">Optional</span>''<span style="line-height: 1.5em;">:&nbsp;If you want to delete the content of your local client after converting to StandAlone, run the ResetClient tool (</span>'''&lt;Install folder&gt;\Application\Components\KB.V.2.0.0.0\ResetClient.exe'''<span style="line-height: 1.5em;">). Note that the ResetClient&nbsp;operation resets the Client database and deletes all of your local content.</span>
 
 
Then, check the '''StandAlone '''checkbox:<br>  
 
 
 
[[Image:StandAlone.png]]<br>  
 
 
 
Optional:&nbsp;If you want to delete the content of your local client after converting to StandAlone, run the ResetClient tool ('''&lt;Install folder&gt;\Application\Components\KB.V.2.0.0.0\ResetClient.exe'''). Note that this operation resets the Client database and deletes all of your&nbsp;<br>  
 
  
 
[[Category:FAQ]] [[Category:Help]] [[Category:Tutorials]]
 
[[Category:FAQ]] [[Category:Help]] [[Category:Tutorials]]

Latest revision as of 01:01, 27 March 2013

You can use the KnowBookSettings Properties to convert a Client machine to a Standalone machine without loggin into the Client. This is useful if your Client is pointed to a server that is no longer available, and you cannot log in to your Client to change it to Standalone or to point to a different server.

Note: If you can log into the Client, the preferred method for converting a Client machine to a Standalone machine (and vice versa) is to select Tools\Options\General from the KnowBook main menu.


To convert a client to StandAlone without logging into the Client:

  1. Open the KnowBook Settings from the Start\Program Files\KnowBook\KnowBook Settings menu. 
    KnowbookSettings.png
  2. Check the StandAlone checkbox.
    StandAlone.png
  3. Optional: If you want to delete the content of your local client after converting to StandAlone, run the ResetClient tool (<Install folder>\Application\Components\KB.V.2.0.0.0\ResetClient.exe). Note that the ResetClient operation resets the Client database and deletes all of your local content.